ru
Video

Xavier Bettel

Prime Minister of Luxembourg

About speaker

Xavier Bettel was born on 3 March, 1973 in Luxembourg City.

Education and qualifications
Xavier Bettel studied at the University of Nancy, where he was awarded a master’s degree in public and European law from the Faculty of Law, followed by a DEA (post-graduate diploma of advanced studies) in political sciences and public law.

Governmental posts
Following legislative elections in October 2013,
Xavier Bettel was appointed Prime Minister, Minister of State, Minister for Communications and Media, and Minister
for Religious Affairs on 4 December 2013 in the coalition government formed by the Democratic Party (DP), the
Luxembourg Socialist Workers’ Party (LSAP) and the Green Party (“déi gréng”). Following the resignation of Maggy Nagel from the government, Xavier Bettel was appointed Minister of Culture on 18 December, 2015.

Other political posts
A member of the DP since 1989, Xavier Bettel was elected to Parliament for the first time in 1999 at the age of 26 while standing for the DP in the constituency of the Centre. He was re-elected in 2004, 2009 and 2013. In Parliament, he assumed among others the roles of vice-chairman of the Legal Affairs Committee from 2004 to 2013 and vice-chairman of the Committee of Enquiry into the State Intelligence Service from 2012 to 2013. From 2009 to 2011, he assumed the role of chairman of the DP parliamentary group.
At a local level, Xavier Bettel initially served as a municipal councillor of the City of Luxembourg from 2000 to 2005, then as an alderman from 2005 to 2011. Following the municipal elections of 2011, he assumed the role of mayor, an office he held until his appointment as Prime Minister, Minister of State in December 2013.
From January 2013 to November 2015, Xavier Bettel was the chairman of the DP.

Professional activities
From 2001 to 2013, Xavier Bettel worked as a barrister in Luxembourg.

Sessions participant

en
Видео

Ксавье Беттель

Премьер-министр Люксембурга

О спикере

Родился 3 марта 1973 г. в Люксембурге.

Образование и дипломы
После окончания средней школы, Ксавье Беттель получил степень магистра по специальности "Общественное и европейское право" на юридическом факультете Университета Нанси, после чего продолжил учебу и получил диплом об углубленном образовании по специальности "Политические науки и общественное право".

Работа в правительстве
4 декабря 2013 г. по итогам выборов в законодательные органы власти Ксавье Беттель был назначен премьер-министром, государственным министром, министром связи и СМИ и министром по делам религий в коалиционном правительстве, которое было сформировано Демократической партией, Люксембургской социалистической партией рабочих и Партией зеленых. 18 декабря 2015 г. Ксавье Беттель также занял пост министра культуры.

Прочая политическая деятельность
Являясь членом Демократической партии с 1989 года, Ксавье Беттель в возрасте 26 лет был в 1999-ом году впервые избран в парламент, а затем переизбран туда в 2004-ом, 2009-ом и 2013-ом годах. В составе парламента, помимо других постов, занимал должность заместителя председателя комитета по юридическим вопросам (2004- 2013 гг.) и заместителя председателя комитета по запросам в государственную разведывательную службу (2012- 2013). С 2009 по 2011 гг. являлся председателем парламентской группы Демократической партии.
В начале своей карьеры Ксавье Беттель был членом муниципального совета г. Люксембург (2000- 2005 гг.), затем занимал должность олдермена (2005- 2011). По итогам муниципальных выборов в 2011-ом году он стал мэром и оставался им до декабря 2013 года, когда был назначен на должность премьер-министра, государственного министра.
С января 2013 года Ксавье Беттель является председателем Демократической партии.

Профессиональная деятельность
В период с 2001 по 2013 год Ксавье Беттель занимал должность судебного адвоката в Люксембурге.

Участник сессий